Home » Uncategorized » The simple joy of soundtracks scores

The simple joy of soundtracks scores

greenpaper

Nothing’s much worse for me than waking up and trudging to research methods on a Monday at 8:30.

Today was a bit different.

I loaded Ennio Morricone’s The Good, the Bad and the Ugly score into my iPod and shifted to track 20, “the ecstacy of gold.”

Nothing improves a depressing death slog to class like loud horns and the overwhelming feeling that an epic cowboy gunfight might occur at any second. The walk became refreshing.

Film scores are my key to productivity. When I write, The Hobbit or The Lord of the Rings or Star Wars, the scores are blasting through my headphones or my speakers. Many posts on this blog were written to the tunes that their source material inspired.

The Hobbit, composed by Howard Shore, accompanied DeMint’s Company. John Williams’ Star Wars pulsed for my drone chatter months ago. For other posts, I looked to Alan Silvestri’s Captain America score and Ramin Djawadi’s Game of Thrones score.

I’ve become so familiar with the material that inspired these scores that the images reveal themselves through melodies and harmonies. It keeps my attention focused on the story I need to tell.

Writing moves beyond an assignment. The music creates urgency and adventure. I imagine Clint Eastwood scowling at the horizon, and I become a player in the story as I write. As Bilbo Baggins sprints from his snug Hobbit hole, I’m right there with him as I tell a different story.

Nothing works better to push my pen to paper or get my fingers rapidly pounding the keyboard than a well-made score.

Film scores à my way to get things done.

Join the adventure.

1 Comment

  1. Brett says:

    Yes! I did the same.

Leave a Reply

